top of page


The Museum

Housed in the 1823 Abigail Hooper Trask house, the Museum invites you to experience exhibits, (some interactive), video, restored rooms, artwork, and archives that interpret Manchester’s fascinating past. Encounter an outdoor Salt Cod Fishyard (1700s), a visual tour of Manchester in 1772, a diorama of downtown in 1910 with model railroad, a talking dollhouse from 1870, and relics of the indigenous people, along with period rooms and beautiful work by some of the foremost artists of the early 1900s.


A photo of the house today, with a caption (the 1823 Abigail Hooper Trask, 10 Union Street, houses the Museum and its exhibits and collections) and a link to “Remarkable History” text, which needs some changes (see Bob to get them)


Welcome to Our Bicentennial Year!

This a great year to visit, as we bring history to life in the 21st century! Follow our schedule of events here on the website, and on FaceBook and Instagram.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube


Director & Curator: Robert Booth | - 781-780-1890

Administrative & General Info: Nancy Klebart | - 978-526-7230

Events: Martha Chapman | - 978-526-7230

Archivist: Matthew Swindell | - 978-526-7230

Volunteers: John Huss, Lynda Griffiths, Pam Nelson


Executive Committee

President: Matthew Genta
Vice President: Rebecca Campbell
Secretary: Sue Thompson
Treasurer: Rus Brown

Board Members

Martha Chapman
Philio Wigglesworth Cushing
Constance Leahy
David Lumsden
Mary Minott
John Round
Amy Snodgrass

Remarkable History of the Museum’s Abigail Hooper Trask House (1823)

This house was the only one in Massachusetts built for a self-made unmarried woman! Abigail Hooper (born 1788) was 35 at the time, and the proprietor of the town’s leading store. In 1829, after marriage to a shipmaster, she doubled the size of the house and added a columned side porch and a handsome frontispiece (since removed). She resided here for the rest of her very long life, which ended in 1885 in her 97th year.

80.24.7 (1)a- Trask House - photo of the Trask House in 1880's front.jpg
bottom of page